Sunday, April 4, 2010

List #5: My Disney Book Collection

1. A Pictorial Souvenir of Walt Disney World (1975)

2. Walt Disney World: The First Decade (1982)

3. Walt Disney World: A Pictorial Souvenir (1985)
4. Walt Disney World: 15th Anniversary (1986)
5. Walt Disney World and EPCOT Center (1987)
6. Walt Disney World: 20 Magical Years (1991)
7. Walt Disney World: A Pictorial Souvenir (1993)
8. Walt Disney World: Twenty-Five Years (1996)
9. Walt Disney World Resort: A Souvenir for the Millennium (1999)
10. Walt Disney World: Then, Now, and Forever
by Jeff Kurtti and Bruce Gordon (2008)
11. Secrets of Disney's Glorious Gardens
by Kevin Markey
12. Designing Disney
by John Hench
13. Tarzan: The Broadway Adventure
by Michael Lassell

14. Windows on Main Street
by Chuck Snyder

15. Encyclopedia of Walt Disney's Animated Characters
by John Grant

16. The Haunted Mansion: From the Magic Kingdom to the Movies
by Jason Surrell
17. The Disney Mountains: Imagineering at Its Peak
by Jason Surrell
18. Pirates of the Caribbean: From the Magic Kingdom to the Movies
by Jason Surrell
19. Since the World Began: Walt Disney World - The First 25 Years
by Jeff Kurtti
20. The Little Big Book of Disney
by Monique Peterson
21. Walt Disney Imagineering: A Behind the Dreams Look at Making the Magic Real 
by The Imagineers

22. Walt Disney's EPCOT Center: Creating the World of Tomorrow
by Richard Beard
23. The Making of Disney's Animal Kingdom Theme Park
by Melody Malmberg

24. From Mouse to Mermaid: The Politics of Film, Gender and Culture
by Elizabeth Bell, Lynda Haas, and Laura Sells

25. Good Girls & Wicked Witches: Women in Disney's Feature Animation
by Amy M. Davis

26. Birnbaum's Walt Disney World 2009

27. Realityland: True-Life Adventures at Walt Disney World
by David Koenig

28. Cast Member Confidential: A Disneyfied Memoir 
by Chris Mitchell

29. Walt Disney World Resort: Celebrating 100 Years of Magic

30. Disneyland: The First Quarter Century (1979)

31. Imagineering: A Behind the Dreams Look at Making More Magic Real (2010)
by The Imagineers


    Lauren said...

    Hi! I love Disney books, I've got a growing collection myself, and have a question! I'm an information kinda gal and so are books number 2, 12, 19 and 21 worth it more in that sense? Facts and whatnot? Although I might get them anyway.
    I've read all of koenigs books and LOVE them, as well as cast member confidential.

    Zach said...

    #2 is a good book with a lot of great retro pictures of Disney World. It seems there are more pictures than text, though. But it's still a great book to add to your collection.

    #12 is very text-heavy, and goes into detail about the design processes of Disneyland and WDW shows and rides. It's definitely not a souvenir book of pictures -- there's a lot of information in it.

    #19 is a MUST-HAVE for fans of Disney World and Disney information. It is filled with the history of WDW and all of the parks, resorts and attractions. The author gives a lot of "inside scoop" stories and other offbeat topics not found in most WDW books. It's similar to Realityland, but it's filled with pictures. Definitely worth it.

    #21 is also a MUST-HAVE for WDW fans. It's a huge coffee-table-style book, filled with pictures, drawings, concept art and other media relating to Disney Imagineering and the design/creation/production of Disney parks and resorts. I believe they're coming out with an updated edition sometime soon, so I would definitely wait for that one.

    J. McMahan said...

    I have #2 and #6 and the text and pictures are similar. Is #4 about the same as well? For some reason it is more rare than the other two. Is it worth tracking down?

    Zach said...

    #4 is very much the same as the other two. If you have #6, then there is no reason to get #4. It is almost identical, except it doesn't have the chapter about MGM Studios. Otherwise it is pretty much the same and isn't worth going out of the way to track down.

    J. McMahan said...

    Thanks for the quick response, Zach! Glad to know there's another one I can cross off the list. :D

    Post a Comment